Koenen wins special election in SD 20

Written by Evan Paskach on .

koenen lyle dRep. Lyle Koenen (DFL-Clara City) won Tuesday’s special election in Senate District 20 over GOP candidate Gregg Kulberg. The seat was vacated by the late Sen. Gary Kubly, who passed away on March 2 after a two-year battle with Lou Gehrig’s disease.

With roughly 7200 votes cast, Koenen received 54 percent of the vote to Kulberg’s 40 percent. Independence candidate Leon Greenslit garnered 5 percent.

Koenen will serve the remainder of Sen. Kubly’s term. A special election will not be called for District 20B to replace Rep. Koenen because the legislature will adjourn before an election could take place.

The election results will be certified later this week, though Koenen would not be sworn in until after the legislature returns from the Easter/Passover recess, according to the Secretary of State’s office.

The currently configured Senate District 20 includes Big Stone, Chippewa, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Renville, Swift, and Yellow Medicine counties in western Minnesota. Because of redistricting, Koenen’s senate district will lose Big Stone, Lac qui Parle and Lincoln County, while adding Kandiyohi County.

Unfortunately for the new Senator, the battle continues this weekend for the newly redrawn Senate District 17 seat. Koenen will face an endorsement battle against DFL candidate Larry Rice from Willmar. Current Senator Joe Gimse (R-Willmar) was also drawn into District 17 and will face the winner of the DFL endorsement in November.

ffofmn logo2

The Freedom Foundation of Minnesota is an independent, non-profit educational and research organization that actively advocates the principles of individual freedom, personal responsibility, economic freedom, and limited government. 

By focusing on some of the most difficult public policy issues facing Minnesota, we seek to foster greater understanding of the principles of a free society among leaders in government, the media, and the citizenry.